Slice of Life Challenge Day 1

This is the post excerpt.

As I sat on the couch tonight with my baby Isabella (age 10 but always my baby), I realized she’s not such a baby anymore. Oh she still snuggled me like she always does (and hopefully always will), but while we were sitting there she was crocheting. I know what you’re thinking… It’s the same thing I always think… Crocheting is for little old ladies! Not to insult anyone that likes to crochet… But it’s always something you picture little, old grannies with silver hair and glasses doing. The principal offered the fifth grade girls the opportunity to meet for crochet club during their lunch and recess when the weather was bad. My little pumpkin jumped at the opportunity to spend some time with her amazingly fabulous principal. So while we sat there talking, she crocheted. Then, she took a moment to tell me that she’s making a baby blanket for her nephew. How did I manage to raise such a wonderful, caring, attentive, little lady? And what happened to my little, chubby, roses cheeked baby girl? So in this moment I give tribute to Ferris Bueller…”Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” And like most parents, when it comes to my children I don’t want to miss a thing!

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life Challenge Day 1”

  1. i love this story. I remember the same feeling about my little girl, now full-on grownup in near middle age. She too started crocheting around 5th grade, and oddly, while she’s right-handed in most things, she crochets left-handed. You’re clearly raising a wonderful person. And welcome to the Slicers’ club.

    Like

  2. Such a sweet way to begin this month! I am excited to read more from you, especially those ones with your girls! Kids do provide quite a lot of inspiration!

    Like

Leave a comment

Live, Love, Teach

Slices of life from my little corner of the world

this and that

A "Slice of Life" Blog

carrieiswriting

"Imagination is the highest form of research", Albert Einstein

Chocolate Delight

My Noticings...

Crotty Kid

A great WordPress.com site

Writer1973

Life makes me Happy.....

Katie's Korner

Blogging my way through the year